A Greeting Message from TPC Chairs

Dear Colleagues,

The Technical Program Committee (TPC) is excited to announce that the 9th Annual IEEE Energy Conversion Congress & Exposition (ECCE’2017) submission window is NOW OPEN.

Jan 15, 2017 – 5-page digests are due
Feb 01, 2017 – tutorial proposals are due
Mar 31, 2017 – special session proposals are due

Whether it is power converters, motor / motor drives, renewable energy, devices, controls, LED lighting, smart grid or the countless other technical sub-fields related to electrical energy conversion – we are in a period of immense opportunity for our industry and are proud of the role ECCE plays as the flagship conference in these fields. In the past eight years there has been a tremendous growth in the numbers of technical papers submitted and attendees to the conference. If you have not yet attended an ECCE conference, we encourage you to consider attending ECCE 2017. We are confident that it will be worthy of your time as an author and/or attendee.

The TPC has been hard at work organizing the technical program to make ECCE 2017 an informative and memorable experience. Part of this is a subtle re-organization of research tracks – nothing drastic, but an attempt to better identify application tracks vs. core technology tracks to help researchers and practitioners alike to easily find what they are looking for.

We invite you to be an active participant in the conference – as an author, a reviewer, or both!

Digests submitted to ECCE undergo a rigorous peer review process by subject domain experts. Authors have the option to select a preferred presentation format: oral or poster. Some authors prefer the poster format as it facilitates deeper discussions than are possible in an oral session and can lead to new ideas, directions, or collaborations. Others prefer to present their papers in an oral session. No matter what you preference is as an author, it is the policy of the TPC to regard oral or poster papers with equal weight – they are both uploaded to the IEEE Explore Digital Library without any differentiation.

We look forward to receiving your digests and seeing you in Cincinnati in 2017.


Emmanuel Agamloh, Advanced Energy
David Dorrell, University of Kwazulu Natal
Yunwei (Ryan) Li, University of Alberta
Mircea Popescu, Motor Design Ltd.
Pat Wheeler, University of Nottingham

ECCE 2017 Technical Program Chairs