Thermal Design and Control for High Reliability Power Electronics, Electrical Drives, and Batteries


Prof. Marco Liserre, University of Kiel, Kiel, Germany
Prof. Rik W. De Doncker, RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany


Temperature has a major effect on both batteries and power electronics (PE) performance and reliability. The development of the electromobility sector and the spreading of PE throughout society (e-mobility, industry, grid, consumer electronics, etc.), together with the trend towards increasing power- and energy- densities, and the rise of PE-based critical applications (more electrical aircraft, grid applications, etc.), therefore puts the spotlight on thermal management and reliability issues. Consequently, limiting peak temperatures, temperature gradients, and thermal cycling of power devices and batteries gains great relevance.

Limiting thermal stress can be achieved by combining high performance cooling technics (jet impingements, phase-change-materials, etc.) and temperature- and reliability- oriented control algorithms (active thermal control, loss reduction strategies etc.). At design stage, achieving high power density call for the use of improved modelling technics for complex and multi-physic systems. Furthermore, lifetime estimation and condition monitoring play an important part in reliability assessment. To reach these targets, high performance temperature measurement, imaging systems, and estimators are required during design and for field monitoring.

The industrial and academic speakers involved in this special session will tackle these issues with both conceptual- and application- oriented presentations. Altogether, they cover a broad area of expertise, including reliability of PE and batteries, thermal-guided design & control strategies, cooling technics, temperature sensing, imaging, and estimation, electromobility, and PE systems.

Short Bio of Organizers

Marco Liserre (S’00-M’02-SM’07-F´13) received the MSc and PhD degree in Electrical Engineering from the Bari Polytechnic, respectively in 1998 and 2002. He has been Associate Professor at Bari Polytechnic and from 2012 Professor in reliable power electronics at Aalborg University (Denmark). From 2013 he is Full Professor and he holds the Chair of Power Electronics at Kiel University (Germany). He has published 500 technical papers and a book. These works have received more than 40000 citations. Marco Liserre is listed in ISI Thomson report “The world’s most influential scientific minds” from 2014. He has been awarded with a European Excellence Grant in 2013. He is leading a team of 20 Members cooperating with 20 industries and with an annual budget of 2 Million Euro.

He is member of IAS, PELS, PES and IES. He has been serving all these societies in different capacities. In PELS he is AdCom member (second mandate), Co-Editor of the IEEE Open Access Journal in Power Electronics, Associate Editor of TPEL and JESTPE, Guest Editor of Several Special Issues of JESTPE, Technical Committee Chairman of the new Committee on Electronic Power Grid Systems and Member of the IEEE Digital Committee. He has received 5 IEEE Society Awards, notable the 2014 Dr. Bimal Bose Energy Systems Award, the 2017 IEEE PELS Sustainable Energy Systems Technical Achievement Award and the 2018 IEEE-IES Mittelmann Achievement Award.

Prof. Rik W. De Doncker (M’87 SM’99 F’01) received his Ph.D. degree (summa cum laude) in electrical engineering from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Leuven, Belgium in 1986.  In 1987, he was appointed Visiting Associate Professor at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. In 1988, he joined the GE Corporate Research and Development Center, Schenectady, NY. In November 1994, he joined Silicon Power Corporation (formerly GE-SPCO) as Vice President Technology, developing world’s first medium-voltage static transfer switch.

Since Oct. 1996, he is professor at RWTH Aachen University, Germany, where he leads the Institute for Power Electronics and Electrical Drives (ISEA).  In Oct. 2006 he was appointed director of the E.ON Energy Research Center at RWTH Aachen University, where he also founded the Institute for Power Generation and Storage Systems (PGS).  He is director of the RWTH CAMPUS Cluster Sustainable Energy and leads the German Federal Government BMBF Flexible Electrical Networks (FEN) Research CAMPUS. He has a doctor honoris causa degree of TU Riga, Latvia.

He has published over 600 technical papers and is holder of more than 70 patents. Dr. De Doncker is recipient of the IAS Outstanding Achievements Award and the IEEE Power Engineering Nari Hingorani Custom Power Award (2008). In 2010, he became member of the German National Platform for electro-mobility. He is the recipient of the 2013 Newell Power Electronics IEEE Technical Field Award, and the 2014 IEEE PELS Harry A. Owen Outstanding Service Award. In 2015 he was awarded Fellow status at RWTH University. In 2016 he became member of the German Academy of Science and Technology (ACATECH). 2017 he became Member of the International Advisory Board of French automotive research institute VEDECOM. In 2020 he was awarded the 2020 IEEE Medal in Power Engineering.

Speakers and presentations

1. Prof. Rik W. De Doncker, Professor, RWTH Aachen University
Design Challenges of High Power Density Dc-Dc Converters

2. Prof. Marco Liserre, Professor, University of Kiel, Kiel
Reliability Driven Control of Power Converter

3. Prof. Frede Blaabjerg, Professor, Aalborg University
Artificial Neural Network based Thermal Model Considering the Cross-Coupling Effects of Power Modules

4. Mr. Stefan Kayser, InfraTec
State of the art Thermographic Cameras for Testing Power Electronics and Batteries

5. Prof. H. Alan Mantooth, Professor, Arkansas University
Electro-thermal Co-Design of Traction Drive Inverters

6. Dr. Jin Hwan Jung, Hyundai Motor Company
Design of eAxle Propulsion Drives for Electric Vehicles

7. Mr. Florian Ringbeck, RWTH Aachen University
Influence of Thermal Gradients on Battery Performance

8. Dr. Henning Sauerland, Hitachi Europe GmbH
Experimental Thermal Analysis and Reduced Order Modelling of Direct Oil-Cooled PMSM